March Releases to Get Excited About!

March is almost here and that means more new books! February was a tough month for me mental health wise, and books were really there to save the day. I’m happy to be back updating this blog and talking about the books I can’t wait to read.

Rule of Wolves (King of Scars #2) by Leigh Bardugo (March 30, 2021)

“The wolves are circling and a young king will face his greatest challenge in the explosive finale of the instant #1 New York Times-bestselling King of Scars Duology”

This is probably the book I am most excited for in March. I love the Grishaverse and Nikolai is my favorite character. (Also super excited for the Shadow and Bone series coming to Netflix.) I think I’ll have to try and squeeze in a reread so that I’m fully prepared for this book.

The Dating Plan by Sara Desai (March 16, 2021)

Even with a step-by-step plan, these fake fiancés might accidentally fall for each other in this hilarious, heartfelt romantic comedy from the author of The Marriage Game.”

So this was my Book of the Month choice for January and I absolutely loved it. I really loved every minute of this book as I read it. I highly recommend this book if you are a romance novel lover like myself. You can check out my full review here! Also look at the gorgeous cover. We need more purple book covers in this world.

Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young (March 16, 2021)

“Filled with action, emotion, and lyrical writing, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Namesake, the final book in the captivating Fable duology.”

One of these days I will get around to reading Fable. I keep hearing such amazing things about it, and with the release of the second part right around the corner I won’t have to even wait. Again, another absolutely gorgeous cover.

Bone Crier’s Dawn (Bone Grace #2) by Kathryn Purdie (March 30, 2021)

Ailesse and her friends change the afterlife in the gripping conclusion to the fantasy duology that began with Bone Crier’s Moon from New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Purdie–perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi.

I actually just recently finished Bone Crier’s Moon, the first part in this duology. (I’ll have a review up soon.) I enjoyed the mythology of this book and it felt very different from anything I had read recently. It also left off in a really exciting way to lead into this next part. I’m excited to see where this story goes and how it ends.

Sweet & Bitter Magic by Adrienne Tooley (March 9, 2021)

“In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom.”

This one sounds super interesting and has a lot of promise. I always love stand-alone fantasy books. (Not everything needs to be a trilogy!) It is a slow burn romance, so what’s not to love about this book.

So now you can add all of these to you TBR list! What release are you most excited about?

Follow me on Instagram!

Review: City of Glass (Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare

SYNOPSIS (via Goodreads):

“To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters — never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and her best friend, Simon, has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City — whatever the cost?”

REVIEW:

I wasn’t super excited to read City of Glass since I didn’t enjoy City of Ashes, but I wanted to push forward with the series. The thing about these books is that I really like the Shadowhunter world, I’m just constantly annoyed by Clary and Jace.

Clary and Jace annoy me so much. No one can possibly understand either of them, and no one is right but them. With this book starting out with Jace making the decision to leave before Clary has a chance to come to Alicante, and Clary making the decision to just ignore everything and make her own portal; I wanted to slam my head against a wall. They are both so selfish, it is honestly incredible. I thought that a big portion of this book was going to be about saving Clary’s mom. Yet, the author made the decision for all of that to happen off-screen which was baffling.

More incest which is wonderful, for the ultimate reveal that “jk guys, they aren’t siblings I would never do that”. I knew going into this series that there was the incest fake out, I just didn’t think it would be three books worth. But don’t worry, Clary still kissed her actually brother. Are we sure Simon isn’t related to her? Since she kissed him too. I probably liked this book the most out of the first three of the Mortal Instruments series, but that’s not too hard. I think this book had the best forward motion, though someone really needs to make an attempt at training Clary. The Shadowhunter history is fascinating, and learning more about that world was a strong point of these books.

I’m glad I went with the reading order that Cassandra Clare recommends because I don’t think I could read more about Clary and Jace right now.

RATING: 2.5/3

As always you can follow along on my reading adventures on Instagram!

WWW Wednesday – February 3, 2021

Happy February everybody! It is the first Wednesday in February which means another WWW Wednesday. I’m answering the three questions below. Let me know your answers in the comments or share on your own blog!

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I just started Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. This is the first in the Infernal Devices series. I saw so many people talk about this book on Instagram that it actually made start the whole Shadowhunters Chronicles. I did not love any of the first 3 books in the Mortal Instruments series, but I am really liking Clockwork Angel so far.

What did you recently finish reading?

I just finished The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty. I posted a review yesterday for this book and if you checked that out than you know I had a lot of mixed feelings about this book. Overall, it was a super quick read that I enjoyed and had an interesting premise that made it stand out. However, the author fell into a lot of harmful stereotypes which was incredibly frustrating. I also felt that this book easily could have been a stand alone. No need to make a trilogy out of it.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I think my next book is going to be Graceling by Kristin Cashore. Another series that has been sitting on my TBR since seeing it all over Instagram. I kept being tempted by it at my library and finally grabbed it on my last trip.

Let me know if you have read any of these books! Also, feel free to follow along on my Instagram!

Review: The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty

SYNOPSIS (via Goodreads):

“An obstinate girl who will not be married. A soldier desperate to prove himself. A kingdom on the brink of war.

With a sharp tongue and an unruly temper, Sage Fowler is not what they’d call a lady―which is perfectly fine with her. Deemed unfit for marriage, Sage is apprenticed to a matchmaker and tasked with wrangling other young ladies to be married off for political alliances. She spies on the girls―and on the soldiers escorting them.

As the girls’ military escort senses a political uprising, Sage is recruited by a handsome soldier to infiltrate the enemy ranks. The more she discovers as a spy, the less certain she becomes about whom to trust―and Sage becomes caught in a dangerous balancing act that will determine the fate of her kingdom.”

REVIEW:

For me, The Traitor’s Kiss was a quick read. I read most of this book in one day. The beginning did drag a bit for me, and there were a ton of characters introduced in a very short amount of time. Once Sage and the army meet up, the story really picks up and flew by. The chapters are also super short, which I think helps. I do think Sage could be hit or miss for some people. I enjoyed her because I’m someone whose temper can cloud her judgment at times. I did like that she would see the error of her ways and apologize, not something you always see. Though her not liking some of the girls because they enjoy more feminine pursuits was frustrating. The troupe is so common and stupid, and one of my bigger pet peeves.

I also figured out the twist pretty early on. There are clues dropped throughout and I don’t think it is hidden very well. I don’t think figuring this out early hindered the book for me. I loved Sage and Alex’s chemistry. Their love grows organically and isn’t rushed. They are both loners, so it was nice to see them genuinely open up to each other. Tension is high throughout the novel, seeing who’s plot is going to succeed so there really is never a dull moment.

Before reading this book, I saw a lot of reviews saying it was “a whitewashed Mulan”. I think from the synopsis, you can see where that misconception comes from. You have matchmaking and the military elements right there. Once the story starts though, you realize that they’re not similar. Sage never joins the army in disguise, she isn’t a good fighter. She has great observation skills thanks to her time working with her father as a fowler, and her love of learning. She is in a unique position thanks to her being the matchmaker’s apprentice which the army uses to their advantage.

I will say the characterization of the villains is problematic. You have the main villain, joining forces with “dark-skinned tribesmen”. They are harmful stereotypes and not fleshed out at all. This was probably my biggest problem with the book. It is frustrating that this is still an issue when more and more books are released with some amazing representation. The other issue I have is that I thought this book was a stand-alone. Honestly, it should be! Not everything needs to be a trilogy! There could have been a nice little time jump epilogue at the end and it would have worked perfectly. Instead, there are two more books in this series.

Overall, I enjoyed the espionage elements to the story. I think the author has a lot to learn about not using gross stereotypes.

RATING: 3/5

Has anyone read the rest of this series? Should I check it out or should I just ignore them?

As always, follow along on Instagram!