Review: Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie

SYNOPSIS (via Goodreads):

“Bone ​Criers have a sacred duty. They alone can keep the dead from preying on the living. But their power to ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld comes from sacrifice. The gods demand a promise of dedication. And that promise comes at the cost of the Bone Criers’ one true love.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, a mysterious famille of women who use strengths drawn from animal bones to ferry dead souls. But first she must complete her rite of passage and kill the boy she’s also destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Yet when he finally captures one, his vengeance will have to wait. Ailesse’s ritual has begun and now their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Sabine has never had the stomach for the Bone Criers’ work. But when her best friend Ailesse is taken captive, Sabine will do whatever it takes to save her, even if it means defying their traditions—and their matriarch—to break the bond between Ailesse and Bastien. Before they all die.”

REVIEW:

I keep bouncing between 3 and 4 stars for this book. Overall, I enjoyed it. I think the mythology and concept of this book are amazing. I loved learning about the Bone Criers and their beliefs and practices. What makes me hesitate between 3 and 4 stars is that I never really got sucked into this book. I’m not even quite sure what held me back, because it is such an original idea.

The novel is told from 3 perspectives; Sabine, Bastien, and Ailesse. I enjoyed the alternating POVs and it made the pacing better. Sabine’s chapters could get frustrating because I felt like she was running around in circles for most of the book. I also wish that time didn’t jump so fast. Bone Criers are tied to the moon. So important things happen on new and full moons, but all of the action happens on those nights and not much in between, even though weeks pass. I felt like it would have flushed out the romance a bit more between Bastien and Ailesse. I also think it would also have made Sabine’s chapters feel less chaotic.

Bone Crier’s Moon gets points for strong female friendship that doesn’t disappear the minute the love interest is introduced. There was a twist towards the end of this book that surprised me and sets up such an interesting dynamic in the next book. 

Overall, I think you should check this out if you are looking for something a little different. The mythology and world building are excellent and where this book leaves off makes me excited for the sequel.

RATING: 3.5/5

Have you read Bone Crier’s Moon? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Follow along on Instagram!

March Releases to Get Excited About!

March is almost here and that means more new books! February was a tough month for me mental health wise, and books were really there to save the day. I’m happy to be back updating this blog and talking about the books I can’t wait to read.

Rule of Wolves (King of Scars #2) by Leigh Bardugo (March 30, 2021)

“The wolves are circling and a young king will face his greatest challenge in the explosive finale of the instant #1 New York Times-bestselling King of Scars Duology”

This is probably the book I am most excited for in March. I love the Grishaverse and Nikolai is my favorite character. (Also super excited for the Shadow and Bone series coming to Netflix.) I think I’ll have to try and squeeze in a reread so that I’m fully prepared for this book.

The Dating Plan by Sara Desai (March 16, 2021)

Even with a step-by-step plan, these fake fiancés might accidentally fall for each other in this hilarious, heartfelt romantic comedy from the author of The Marriage Game.”

So this was my Book of the Month choice for January and I absolutely loved it. I really loved every minute of this book as I read it. I highly recommend this book if you are a romance novel lover like myself. You can check out my full review here! Also look at the gorgeous cover. We need more purple book covers in this world.

Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young (March 16, 2021)

“Filled with action, emotion, and lyrical writing, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Namesake, the final book in the captivating Fable duology.”

One of these days I will get around to reading Fable. I keep hearing such amazing things about it, and with the release of the second part right around the corner I won’t have to even wait. Again, another absolutely gorgeous cover.

Bone Crier’s Dawn (Bone Grace #2) by Kathryn Purdie (March 30, 2021)

Ailesse and her friends change the afterlife in the gripping conclusion to the fantasy duology that began with Bone Crier’s Moon from New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Purdie–perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi.

I actually just recently finished Bone Crier’s Moon, the first part in this duology. (I’ll have a review up soon.) I enjoyed the mythology of this book and it felt very different from anything I had read recently. It also left off in a really exciting way to lead into this next part. I’m excited to see where this story goes and how it ends.

Sweet & Bitter Magic by Adrienne Tooley (March 9, 2021)

“In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom.”

This one sounds super interesting and has a lot of promise. I always love stand-alone fantasy books. (Not everything needs to be a trilogy!) It is a slow burn romance, so what’s not to love about this book.

So now you can add all of these to you TBR list! What release are you most excited about?

Follow me on Instagram!